Scroll to content
Google Translate
Google Search
School Logo

Southfield School

Everyone Succeeds, Everyone Matters and Every Day Counts

Get in Touch


Southfield has four departments, Early Years, Key Stage One, Lower and Upper Key Stage Two. Each Department has two pastoral groups led by a Teacher and supported by at least two Teaching Assistants. There are usually ten pupils to a pastoral group. Pastoral groups are where pupils are registered each day. Each department then has a number of ability based teaching groups. These groups differ in size and have varying amounts of adult support. This structure enables teachers to differentiate work appropriately for all pupils depending on their needs and abilities. It also ensures that the approaches used suit the learning styles of different pupils.